In Stock












San Francisco Symphony at 100
Format: Blu-ray Genre: Classical Video, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
San Francisco Symphony at 100

San Francisco Symphony at 100

Format: Blu-ray Genre: Classical Video, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
List Price: $27.99
Price: $23.99
You Save: $4.00 (14%)
Share Twitter
In September 2011, Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony launched the Orchestra's milestone Centennial Season with a celebratory gala concert at Davies Symphony Hall dubbed "Fanfare for a New Century." the gala concert was broadcast nationally on PBS in March and April 2012 as part of their Great Performances series. The gala was hosted by Bay Area author Amy Tan and directed for television by Gary Halvorson and features one of the leading artists of our time, violinist Itzhak Perlman performing Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor. The concert opens with Aaron Copland's vivid portrayal of American prairie life, the Billy the Kid ballet suite and concludes with Britten's orchestral showpiece the Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra. Capping off the concert is an encore of Bay Area composer John Adams' Short Ride in a Fast Machine featuring moving images of San Francisco projected throughout Davies Symphony Hall. San Francisco Symphony at 100 also includes historical documentary features narrated by Amy Tan highlighting the orchestra's early beginnings, it's rich history of touring and it's commitment to young people and innovations in media.
Director: Gary Halvorson
Studio: SFS Media
Release Date: 6/12/2012
Item #: 295132X
UPC #: 821936005798
Attributes: Widescreen
Product Type: Blu-ray

You May Also Like

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details