In Stock












Hutongs of Peking / Violin Concerto / Symphony 5
Format: DVD Genre: Classical Artists
Hutongs of Peking /  Violin Concerto /  Symphony 5

Hutongs of Peking / Violin Concerto / Symphony 5

Format: DVD Genre: Classical Artists
List Price: $24.99
Price: $21.24
You Save: $3.75 (15%)
Share Twitter
For the first time ever, a Chinese symphony orchestra is performing at Lucerne Festival. If yet more evidence that classical music has long since become a global language were needed, it would be this appearance by the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra under music director Long Yu. These musicians from Asia have planned a program of three Russian composers. Aaron Avshalomov, who was born in 1894, served as a professor at the Shanghai Conservatory, where he taught from 1919 on; he was one of the founders of China's Western musical tradition. His tone poem Hutongs of Peking captures the sounds and voices that once echoed through the narrow alleys of the Chinese capital. Tchaikovsky's immortal Violin Concerto will be performed by one of the leading virtuosos of our time, Maxim Vengerov. And the orchestra will demonstrate the degree to which a composer under Stalin had to wrestle with his own identity with Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony. Here the composer reacts to the political demand to be popular and monumental - which leads to an absurdly overstated "jubilant" conclusion.
Studio: Accentus
Release Date: 4/12/2019
Item #: 2134811X
UPC #: 4260234831795
Product Type: DVD

You May Also Like

We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you’ve provided to them or that they’ve collected from your use of their services. More details