Show results for


In Stock















Janis: Little Girl Blue (2015)
Format: DVD Genre: Music Video (Concert/Performance), Special Interest-Documentary
Janis: Little Girl Blue Preview

Janis: Little Girl Blue

Format: DVD Genre: Music Video (Concert/Performance), Special Interest-Documentary Theme: Grammy Winning Artist
List Price: $19.95
Price: $16.96
You Save: $2.99 (15%)
Share Twitter
Janis Joplin is one of the most revered and iconic of all rock and roll singers, a tragic and misunderstood figure who thrilled millions of listeners and blazed new creative trails before her death in 1970 at age 27. With Janis: Little Girl Blue, Oscar-nominated director Amy J. Berg (Deliver Us from Evil, West of Memphis) examines Joplins story in depth, presenting an intimate, insightful portrait of a complicated, driven, often beleaguered artist. Joplins own words tell much of the films story through a series of letters she wrote home over the years, many made public here for the first time (and read by Southern-born indie rock star/actor Chan Marshall, aka Cat Power). Joplin was a powerhouse when she sang, and her recordings have never left the radio or the hearts of rock fans. Bergs Janis: Little Girl Blue offers new understanding of a bright, complex woman whose meteoric rise and sudden demise changed music forever and continues to influence female musicians. Janis: Little Girl Blue, written and directed by Amy J. Berg and produced by Academy Award-winner Alex Gibney (Going Clear, Taxi to the Dark Side), features exclusive interviews with musicians Pink, Kris Kristofferson, Melissa Etheridge, Bob Weir, Juliette Lewis, famed TV presenter Dick Cavett, counterculture filmmaker D.A. Pennebaker and the Joplin family. This Special Directors Edition DVD comes packed with over 30 minutes of bonus features, including extended interviews with family, friends, musicians that Janis inspired, musical performances by Kris Kristofferson and The Big Brother Guys and an exclusive look into the Walk of Fame Ceremony for Janis.
Director: Amy Berg
Studio: Filmrise
Release Date: 5/6/2016
Theme: Grammy Winning Artist
Item #: 1703559X
UPC #: 760137830498
Attributes: Bonus Features
Product Type: DVD

You May Also Like