In Stock












Musical Journey: Austia & Belgium
Format: DVD Genre: Classical Composers, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
Musical Journey: Austia & Belgium

Musical Journey: Austia & Belgium

Format: DVD Genre: Classical Composers, Music Video (Concert/Performance)
List Price: $12.99
Price: $11.04
You Save: $1.95 (15%)
Share Twitter
The Places: The tour relates to the life of Mozart, from his native Salzburg to his final precarious independence in Vienna. There are glimpse of the Salzburg Church of St Peter and of the Cathedral, with which Mozart and his father, members of the musical establishment of the ruling Prince-Archbishops of Salzburg, were closely concerned. Memorials of Mozart and other composers are seen in Vienna, while a brief detour to Belgium to the idiosyncratic Musée Wiertz and to the Tournai Musée des Beaux Arts, brings another aspect to the journey. The Music: Mozart's Requiem Mass was commissioned anonymously in July 1791 by Count Franz Walsegg zu Stuppach, who sought to commemorate the recent death of his wife by the performance of a work of this kind that he might, at least by implication, claim as his own. An initial fee of sixty ducats was paid, with promise of a further sum when the Requiem was completed. But in November Mozart was taken ill and within a fortnight he was dead. His widow, Constanze, who needed the rest of the fee for the work, asked Joseph Eybler, who had assisted Mozart in rehearsals for Cose fan tutte, to finish the composition and the scoring. He later gave up the task and the unfinished score finally came into the hands of Franz Xaver Süssmayr, so that the best known form of the Requiem is that started by Mozart, continued briefly by Eybler and completed by Süssmayr.
W.a. Mozart
Studio: Naxos
Release Date: 8/28/2012
Item #: 369691X
UPC #: 747313533350
Product Type: DVD

You May Also Like